In Wisconsin, a crime of domestic abuse is committed when pain, injury or fear is inflicted, or when sexual assault occurs. Under Wisconsin law, you are considered a repeat domestic abuser if you commit another act of domestic abuse within 72 hours of being arrested for an act of domestic abuse. Another instance that constitutes someone as a domestic abuse repeater is if they have previously committed two crimes of domestic abuse where the domestic violence fee was imposed within the past 10 years. View more information about the laws and penalties pertaining to domestic abuse in Wisconsin here.
If you face domestic abuse charges, contact Sparr, Belville & Brown LLC. We will fight for your rights every step of the way.