It can be very hard to sustain a normal life without a valid driver’s license in today’s world, but driving without a license is not the answer. Driving on a suspended license is a big deal in Wisconsin, potentially resulting in felony or misdemeanor charges punishable by hefty fines and penalties. Continue reading to find out what you should do if you have been caught driving with a suspended license in Wisconsin.
Fines and Penalties
If you are caught driving with a suspended license in Wisconsin, you should not expect to get away without a penalty. You can be fined anywhere from $50 to $2,500 depending on your situation. You could even face other criminal charges if you were doing something else illegal while driving on a suspended license, such as driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
How to Get Your License Reinstated
If you are looking to get your license reinstated in the state of Wisconsin, you will first need to check with the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles to see if you are eligible. If so, you will need to provide the following information to the DMV:
- Proof of insurance
- Payment for reinstatement fee
- Your Wisconsin driver’s license or ID card number
- Basic personal information such as birth date or last four digits of social security number
If you have been caught driving with a suspended license, you need to speak with an experienced and diligent attorney as soon as possible. Driving is essential in today’s world to do things such as work, eat, or access health care. We will use legal strategy to fight for your rights every step of the way. Please contact us at 920-333-5890 to schedule your free initial consultation.