Motorcycle helmet laws in the US vary by state, with most states falling into one of the three general categories. Three states don’t have helmet laws; 18 states require all riders to wear helmets, while 29 states only require helmets for specific riders.
Wisconsin is one of the 29 states with a partial motorcycle helmet law. This means only certain categories of riders are required to wear helmets while using public roads. The requirement for head protection applies only to riders under 18 or those who hold a learner’s permit, regardless of age. In addition, motorcycle passengers aged below 18 must wear a helmet.
Penalties for Violating Wisconsin Motorcycle Helmet Law
Wisconsin requires riders to wear a helmet that meets or exceeds the safety standards outlined by the U.S. Department of Transportation. The helmet should be fastened with a chinstrap. Further, riders whose motorcycles are not fitted with a windshield of at least 15 inches tall should wear goggles or a helmet with a face shield.
The fine for violating the helmet law is $30. Violators will also bear the court costs and fees accompanying the charge, which can increase the total expense to over $100. However, violating the helmet law does not earn you penalty points on your driver’s license.
It is important for you to wear a helmet even if it is not a legal requirement. Data from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation indicates that over 90% of motorcycle accidents result in injuries. Further, the number of fatalities has increased in recent years. Most accidents are caused by negligent drivers. Wearing a helmet reduces the risk of death by 42% and serious head injury by 69%.
If you are a motorcyclist and get in an accident with a negligent driver on the road, you must contact Sparr, Belville & Brown LLC to guide you through your personal injury case.